Guides
All guides
85 guides, newest first.
- ACYLS after the award: placement, confirmation and changing universityExplains how the ACYLS guidebook places applicants among 33 designated Chinese universities and when a change of university, major or length of study is allowed.
- Arriving on an ACYLS scholarship: visa papers, registration, health verification and airfare claimsAfter an ACYLS award, the programme guidebook sets out the visa, registration, health verification, residence permit and airfare reimbursement papers, with airfare ceilings of 3000 RMB and 6000 RMB as printed.
- Health verification after arrival: the papers a scholarship notice and Order No. 42 nameFour official texts ask for health papers at different moments, from the scholarship application to the residence permit. This article sets out which paper each text names and when it applies.
- Exactly 180 days of study: X2 or X1? How each official text draws the lineExactly 180 days falls on the short-term side in the Regulations, in Order No. 42 and in the consular instructions' X2 row, and this page quotes each text to show where the line sits.
- The first weeks after landing: four filings in the order the rules give themFour filings may fall due after arrival in mainland China, each with its own provision and time limit; this page takes them in the order the official texts give them.
- Foreign certificates for a residence permit application: translation and legalisation notesSection 12 of the National Immigration Administration's residence permit service guide says that marriage, birth and kinship certificates issued by a foreign authority or notary shall be legalised by the Chinese embassy or consulate in that country, and that foreign-language materials shall be translated into Chinese.
- YES China scholarship paperwork: pre-admission letter first, then the online applicationFor the 2026 intake of the Youth of Excellence Scheme of China, the notice asks applicants to hold a pre-admission letter when they apply online, with the online deadline at 23:59 on March 31, 2026 (GMT+8).
- Staying longer on an X2 visa: the extension papers in the immigration service guidesArticle 29 of the Exit and Entry Administration Law requires an extension application seven days before the visa's stay expires, and the accumulated extension shall not exceed the original stay in the visa.
- Original or photocopy? How three official pages word the admission notice and JW formThe UK embassy list allows an original or a photocopy of the JW201 or JW202 form, while the consular X1 section and the US embassy row name neither word for it.
- Student visa papers at the Chinese embassy in the United States: the table row by rowThe Chinese embassy in the United States notice (updated September 2025) asks X1 higher education applicants for Form JW201 or JW202 and a photocopy of the Admission Letter. This unofficial summary sets out the X1 and X2 rows as the notice prints them.
- Staying in China after graduation: the two residence permit measures the immigration guides printTwo National Immigration Administration English service guides each print graduate paragraphs in which the applicant may apply or can apply for a residence permit valid for two to five years or for no more than two years, and this article sets out their wording, papers and conditions.
- When you graduate, withdraw or leave early: what the school reports and what you should checkThis page explains which official provisions require the school to report the end of a foreign student's studies to the exit and entry authority, and which filings and permit rules can follow. The school's reporting duty under Article 26 of the Regulations is the central rule.
- Who may file for you at the exit-entry office: the cases the rules listArticle 19 of the Regulations on Administration of the Entry and Exit of Foreigners and the service guide's conditions section list the cases in which someone other than the applicant may file a residence permit application, and the guide says the applicant shall apply in person as the rule.
- Back from a trip or moved rooms: when accommodation registration is not needed againQuestion IV of the National Immigration Administration's 2026 policy interpretation lists two circumstances in which a foreigner who has already registered does not need to register again, and a change of address is not one of them.
- Registering your address online: the channels and who may fileThe National Immigration Administration's policy interpretation explains who may file accommodation registration online through the NIA Government Service Platform, and when a foreigner may complete the formalities without the host.
- Internship paperwork for a student in China: the endorsement on the residence permitArticle 22 of the Regulations says a residence permit for study must specify the location and duration of an off-campus internship before the student takes part, and the Chinese service guide lists the school and internship unit letters and the endorsement application.
- New passport or changed details: the 10-day filing for residence permit holdersArticle 33 of China's Exit and Entry Administration Law sets a 10-day deadline to apply for alteration when a registered item on a residence permit changes. This page sets out that provision, the penalty wording in Article 76 and a separate visa rule for new passports.
- Lost or damaged residence permit: the reissue papersIf a residence permit is lost, damaged or stolen, the reissue needs a passport loss report or an embassy or consulate note, or the damaged document, plus a new passport or other international travel document.
- The CSC online application system step by step, as printed in the ACYLS guidebookThis page follows the eight CGSIS steps printed in the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship guidebook, from account creation to printing the form, and shows where the hard copies go.
- Renewing a residence permit for study: the papers and the 30-day windowIf your study runs past the expiry date on your residence permit, Article 32 of China's Exit and Entry Administration Law requires you to apply within 30 days before that date, at the exit/entry administration in your place of residence.
- Great Wall Fellowship paperwork: applying through your National Commission for UNESCOUNESCO's Great Wall Fellowship page says candidates apply through the National Commission for UNESCO of their home country, not directly to UNESCO, and the candidate deadline for the 2026-2027 edition was 23 January 2026.
- ACYLS paperwork: online application, hard copies and the national focal pointThe ACYLS guidebook requires an online application through CGSIS, lists 11 application documents, and sends hard copies to the home-country national focal point or the AUN Secretariat as required.
- Student visa papers at the Chinese embassy in the UK: the embassy's own listThe Chinese embassy in the UK's own page lists the basic papers, the X1 and X2 documents and the application steps for a student visa, with its time stamp of 1 July 2020.
- X1 and X2 papers in the consular Visa Application InstructionsThe Ministry of Foreign Affairs visa instruction page lists an Admission Letter for both X1 and X2 study visas, and a Form JW201 or JW202 for X1 only.
- Under 18 and applying for a Chinese Government Scholarship: the guardian papersAn applicant under 18 must submit the legal documents of a legal guardian in China under item 11 of the Application Guide, and none of the three provisions covered here names the form of that document.
- International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship paperwork: online registration, deadlines and materialsThe 2025 guidelines for the International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship set an applicant deadline and a review deadline for each start month, with the earliest applicant deadline on April 15 for July programmes.
- Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship paperwork: documents and the four application stepsThe China Scholarship Council (Campus China) notice for this scholarship lists seven application documents and seven numbered procedure steps, including the fixed entries for the Language Proficiency and Study Plan section. This is an unofficial summary.
- Study plan and recommendation letters for the CSC scholarship: the two papers you write or requestThe Chinese Government Scholarship requires a study plan of at least 200, 500 or 1000 words or characters by category, and two recommendation letters from applicants for postgraduate programs or academic education as senior scholars. The MOFCOM and Silk Road scholarships set their own rules.
- Language papers for a CSC application: HSK report, IELTS or TOEFL, and the CSCA score reportThe Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship links the language paper to the language the program is taught in: an HSK score report for Chinese-taught master's, doctoral, general scholar and senior scholar programs, and a CSCA score report for bachelor's applicants. Programs taught in another language follow the requirements of each university.
- Notarised copies and translations in a CSC application: what items 3 and 4 ask forThe Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship asks for a notarized photocopy of the highest diploma (item 3) and notarized translations of academic records not in Chinese or English (item 4). The Silk Road and MOFCOM notices word these items differently.
- Papers with an expiry date in a CSC application: passport, medical form and police certificateThree papers in section VI of the CSC Application Guide carry time limits that can run out before you apply: the passport, the medical examination record and the non-criminal record certificate.
- After you press Submit in the CSC system: revoking, editing and printingStep 6 of two CSC online-application notices bars amendment after submission but allows revoking before the application is processed, and Step 7 covers printing the form.
- The 13 items of the Chinese Government Scholarship document list and who needs eachThis page lists the thirteen Chinese Government Scholarship application documents in Section VI of the official guide and shows which applicants each item applies to.
- CSC scholarship paperwork in order: from the pre-admission document to the online formSection V of the CSC Application Guide sets out seven steps; this summary places each step beside the section VI document it names, from the pre-admission document to the online form.
- Off-campus work-study paperwork: the agreement, the school's letter and the permit endorsementOff-campus work-study needs a signed agreement with the employer, a copy filed with the school, and a residence permit endorsed within ten days of applying; Article 11 of the Measures says a permit without that endorsement may not be used for such work.
- MOFCOM Scholarship paperwork: the document list and where the hard copies goSection V of the MOFCOM Scholarship-CSC Enrollment Guide lists nine application documents and sets out the offline route, from the host government's department to the ECCO of the Chinese Embassy.
- Program Category and Agency Number in a CSC application: what three official notices printThree CSC scholarship notices each print a Program Category and an Agency Number for the online application, and each one quotes its own rule on matching them and on an incorrect entry.
- Vocational College Admission in Guizhou: Diploma Programs Listed for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial brochure lists programs by category, school, and study length, but tuition, scholarships, and deadlines must be confirmed with each university.
- Engineering Programs in Guizhou Listed for International Students, by InstitutionA school-by-school list of the engineering-type programmes shown in the Guizhou provincial admission brochure for international students, with fees, scholarships and deadlines left to each university's official notice.
- Guizhou Aerospace Vocational and Technical College (贵州航天职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists a one-year language track and a three-year college diploma track at Guizhou Aerospace Vocational and Technical College, but tuition, scholarships and deadlines must be checked on the university website.
- Guizhou Vocational and Technical College of Water Resources and Hydropower (贵州水利水电职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThis guide sets out what the Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists for Guizhou Vocational and Technical College of Water Resources and Hydropower, including its programs, study lengths and application requirements, and what applicants must confirm on the university's official site.
- Guizhou University of Engineering Science (贵州工程应用技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists the undergraduate programs and teaching language of Guizhou University of Engineering Science, but it does not give tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines.
- Guizhou University of Traditional Chinese Medicine (贵州中医药大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure (April 2026) lists Guizhou University of Traditional Chinese Medicine's programmes, study lengths and teaching languages, but fees, scholarships and deadlines must be confirmed with the university.
- Chinese Language (Non-Degree) Programs in Guizhou: Duration and Requirements as ListedThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure (April 2026) lists non-degree Chinese language entries at 18 institutions, with durations from 0.25 to 2 years, and leaves fees, scholarships and deadlines for each university to confirm.
- HSK Level and Age Requirements Stated by Guizhou Institutions for International ApplicantsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure states HSK3 or HSK4 for specific programs at four institutions and an age of 18 to 30 at one, but it does not list tuition or deadlines.
- Medicine, TCM and Nursing Programs in Guizhou Listed for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure (produced April 2026) lists medicine, TCM or nursing programs at seven institutions, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines.
- Guizhou Vocational Technology College of Electronics & Information (贵州电子信息职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure for international students (April 2026) lists 11 study options at Guizhou Vocational Technology College of Electronics & Information, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines.
- Guizhou Industry Polytechnic College (贵州工业职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou admission brochure lists one non-degree Chinese language program at Guizhou Industry Polytechnic College, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines, so those must be confirmed with the college.
- Zunyi Normal University (遵义师范学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou international admission brochure (April 2026) lists eight Chinese-taught undergraduate programs at Zunyi Normal University, but it does not state fees, scholarship amounts or application deadlines.
- Guizhou Normal University (贵州师范大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists 38 program rows at 贵州师范大学(Guizhou Normal University), all taught in Chinese, but it does not give fees, scholarships, deadlines or document requirements.
- Guiyang Healthcare Vocational University (贵阳康养职业大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou admission brochure lists one one-year Chinese-language non-degree program and five four-year Chinese-taught vocational undergraduate programs at Guiyang Healthcare Vocational University, but it does not list tuition or deadlines.
- Guizhou University (贵州大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe April 2026 Guizhou admission brochure lists 84 first-class majors under China's Double Ten Thousand Plan at Guizhou University, but it does not state tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines.
- Living in Guizhou as an International Student: Climate and Travel Times From the Provincial BrochureThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure gives January temperatures of 3°C–6°C and July temperatures of 22°C–25°C for most of the province.
- Normal (Teacher-Training) Universities in Guizhou: Programs Listed for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists 38 degree and Chinese-language program entries at Guizhou Normal University, and it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts or deadlines for any institution.
- Postgraduate Admission in Guizhou: Master's and Doctoral Programs Listed for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists master's programs at five universities and doctoral programs at three, but it does not give tuition, scholarship amounts or deadlines.
- English-Taught Programs in Guizhou: What the Provincial Brochure Actually ListsThe Guizhou provincial international admission brochure (April 2026) lists 35 teaching entries that include English across six institutions, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts or deadlines.
- Guizhou Institutions Enrolling International Students: The 33 Listed in the Provincial BrochureThe Guizhou provincial brochure lists 33 institutions with admission tables, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines, so those must be confirmed with each university.
- Tongren Polytechnic College (铜仁职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial brochure lists Tongren Polytechnic College's international programs and teaching language, but it does not state tuition, scholarship amounts, or deadlines, so those must be confirmed with the university.
- Guiyang Vocational and Technical College (贵阳职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists one entry for Guiyang Vocational and Technical College: a one-year Chinese language study program with 20 places, taught in Chinese. Fees, scholarships and deadlines are not in the brochure and must be confirmed with the university.
- Guiyang Preschool Education College (贵阳幼儿师范高等专科学校): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International Students贵州省招生手册列出了贵阳幼儿师范高等专科学校的非学历汉语进修生项目(二年制,高中毕业且年满十八周岁),但未写明学费、奖学金、申请截止日期或文件要求,这些需直接向学校确认。
- Guizhou City Vocational College (贵州城市职业学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThis page lists the schools, programs, and entry requirements that the Guizhou admission brochure gives for Guizhou City Vocational College (贵州城市职业学院), and what applicants must still confirm with the university.
- Guizhou Nursing Vocational College (贵州护理职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou admission brochure lists two programs at Guizhou Nursing Vocational College, a one-year Chinese-taught language course and a three-year nursing junior college program, but it does not list tuition, scholarship amounts, or application deadlines.
- Guizhou Vocational College of Economics and Business (贵州经贸职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists one E-commerce college-level place at Guizhou Vocational College of Economics and Business that requires HSK Level 3, but it does not state tuition, scholarship amounts, or deadlines.
- Guizhou Polytechnic of Construction (贵州建设职业技术学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThis article summarizes what the Guizhou admission brochure lists for Guizhou Polytechnic of Construction, and which details, including fees and deadlines, applicants must confirm with the university.
- Guizhou Light Industry Polytechnic University (贵州轻工职业大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou admission brochure (April 2026) lists five diploma-level programmes at Guizhou Light Industry Polytechnic University, but it does not give tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines, so those must be checked with the university.
- Guizhou Communications Polytechnic University (贵州交通职业大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure (April 2026) lists the university's programs and study lengths, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts, or application deadlines.
- Shizhen College of Guizhou University of Traditional Chinese Medicine (贵州中医药大学时珍学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International Students贵州省招生手册列出了贵州中医药大学时珍学院面向国际学生的招生表,但学费、奖学金、截止日期须以学校官网最新通知为准。
- Guiyang Institute of Information Science and Technology (贵阳信息科技学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou admission brochure lists Guiyang Institute of Information Science and Technology with two e-commerce entries, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amount, or application deadline.
- Qiannan Normal University for Nationalities (黔南民族师范学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure (April 2026) lists three undergraduate programs at Qiannan Normal University for Nationalities, 20 places each, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amount or application deadline.
- Kaili University (凯里学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsA paperwork reference of the eight undergraduate programs, teaching languages, and institution details for Kaili University listed in the April 2026 Guizhou admission brochure, plus what applicants must still confirm with the university.
- Liupanshui Normal University (六盘水师范学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThis page summarizes the 11 program rows that the Guizhou admission brochure lists for Liupanshui Normal University, and notes that tuition, scholarships and deadlines are not stated in it.
- Guiyang University (贵阳学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial brochure for international students lists 35 undergraduate programs at Guiyang University (贵阳学院), all taught in Chinese, and it does not state tuition, scholarships, deadlines or HSK requirements.
- Guizhou Open University (贵州开放大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThis article sets out what the Guizhou provincial admission brochure (April 2026) lists for Guizhou Open University, and which details applicants still need to confirm with the university, such as fees and deadlines.
- Guizhou Institute of Technology (贵州理工学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists 30 undergraduate programs at Guizhou Institute of Technology, all taught in Chinese, but it gives no tuition, scholarship amounts or application deadlines.
- Guizhou Education University (贵州师范学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists two international student categories at Guizhou Education University, both for applicants aged 18 or older; fees, scholarships and deadlines are not in the brochure.
- Zunyi Medical University (遵义医科大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International Students本文整理贵州省招生手册对遵义医科大学国际学生招生类别、专业、学制和授课语言的记载,并列出仍需向学校直接确认的费用、奖学金、截止日期、材料和汉语要求。
- Guizhou Medical University (贵州医科大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial admission brochure lists two undergraduate programmes at Guizhou Medical University, Clinical Medicine (一年+五年) and Pharmacy (four years), both taught in Chinese, and it does not list fees, scholarship amounts or application deadlines.
- Guizhou University of Finance and Economics (贵州财经大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou provincial brochure for international students lists 31 programs at Guizhou University of Finance and Economics, but it does not give tuition, scholarship amounts, deadlines or HSK rules.
- Guizhou Minzu University (贵州民族大学): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou admission brochure lists 5 bachelor's and 14 master's programs at Guizhou Minzu University, all taught in Chinese, and leaves tuition, scholarship amounts and deadlines to the university.
- Tongren University (铜仁学院): What the Guizhou Admission Brochure Lists for International StudentsThe Guizhou admission brochure lists four undergraduate programs and two one-year non-degree programs at Tongren University, all taught in Chinese; it does not list fees, scholarship amounts, or deadlines.
- The JW201 Form: What It Is, Who Issues It and Why It Is Required for a Chinese Student VisaWhat the JW201 form is, who issues it (JW201 for government scholarship and exchange students, JW202 for self-funded), why it appears on the X1 visa material list, and how its copies are handled when you file for your residence permit.
- China Residence Permit for Students: What to File in Your First 30 Days and How to Get the CardAfter entering China on an X1 visa you have 30 days to apply for a study residence permit. Here is the deadline, where to file, the documents, the 15-working-day acceptance receipt, validity and fees, and what to do afterwards, checked against the NIA law, regulation and service guide.
- Accommodation Registration in China: The 24-Hour Rule, and How to Register OnlineIf you stay anywhere other than a hotel in China, you or your host must register with the local police within 24 hours of arrival. The National Immigration Administration has now rolled out online registration nationwide. Here is who registers, through which channels, and when you do not need to register again.
- Chinese Government Scholarship: Which Channel to Apply Through, What It Covers, and the Age LimitsThe CSC application guide sorts the Chinese Government Scholarship into four programme types, each with its own place to apply. Here is where each one is filed, what the scholarship pays, the age and language limits, and the documents the guide lists.
- X1 or X2 Student Visa? The 180-Day Line, the Documents, and the 30-Day Residence Permit DeadlineChina issues the X1 visa for study longer than 180 days and the X2 for 180 days or less. X1 holders then have 30 days after entry to apply for a residence permit. Here is what the law, the regulations and the Chinese Embassy's visa guidance actually require.